Do setbacks make us stronger?

Nanci Arvizu
Write Speak Play
Published in
2 min readJan 30, 2019

Just as it seems like the ball is going to get rolling, I hit a hole.

Photo by Arek Adeoye on Unsplash

I had gone for a walk. Outside.

The weather is beautiful right now. This is what I call “showcase weather” time where I live.

It makes me want to be outside. Running.

But, I’m still not 100%. So I continue to ride my bike and do my exercising inside. With the window wide open. It’s as close to exercising outside as I was getting.

Until the weather talked me into taking a walk. Being out on the trails is still bittersweet, but I know I have to do it. I have to face all the emotions that come when I set my feet upon those dirt trails.

So I went for a walk. And I twisted my ankle. Que long swearing streak here.

A twisted ankle, really? You runners know, a twisted ankle or a sprang can be worse than breaking it. It can take forever to heal.

I twisted my ankle when I was in my 20’s. I was wearing high heel shoes (god they were beautiful) and I slipped in some water. It took two years (of no wearing high heels!) and a week on a Hawaiian beach to finally heal from that stupid injury.

Now? I’m back inside, on my bike, where I’m safe. I’ll take a step back to let the initial pain subside, and then I’ll be back at it, modified of course. *le sigh* so tired of being ‘modified.’

Will this make me stronger?

It will. As long as I don’t give up.

Maybe I’ll book a trip to Hawaii too.

Creating the life of my dreams, one story at a time. www.nanciwrites.com

--

--