Don’t Just Create Content, Develop Long-Term Assets

Here are some ways to do it

Jim Woods
Write STUFF
Published in
4 min readAug 25, 2020

--

Photo by Jason Strull on Unsplash

All too often I see so many people playing the short game. Focusing too much energy on blog posts or social media is often a waste of time. These things come and go. What’s relevant one day is not the next day.

Winging it as far as content goes is the common content strategy. Here are a few signs that you’re winging it. You’re sharing quotes. You’re inconsistent with your content.

Instead, we all need to focus more on creating long-term assets. What do I mean?

Writing A Book

Writing a book is one of the best long-term assets you can create. And one really cool way to do it is to blog your book. You could compile a bunch of posts or articles together and release them in book form.

When you write a good book, it will open a lot of doors for you. I personally know many authors who have found speaking gigs, consulting work, coaching (one-on-one and group coaching), created courses, and much more.

The book itself can make you money as well, but that’s not the best way to look at it. I view a book as a key that unlocks many doors that were once closed to you. I personally have landed at least 10 freelance jobs from my first book, Ready Aim Fire. Not to…

--

--

Jim Woods
Write STUFF

I help small businesses, writers, and non-profit organizations repurpose their content and create books. Contact me: Jimwoodswrites@gmail.com