How To Raise Your Rates Without Ticking Off Customers

This simple email will make you money

Jim Woods
Write STUFF
Published in
4 min readDec 17, 2020

--

Photo by 金 运 on Unsplash

You know it’s time to raise your rates, and you’ve been putting it off. If you’re really honest, you’re scared to do it. So you keep your rates the same. I’d even bet you know that you are undercharging for your work.

“If you know what you’re worth, go out and get what you’re worth.”

That line from Rocky Balboa always stuck with me. There’s another line that is basically a life lesson in a sentence too: “Until you believe in yourself, you’re not gonna have a life.”

And that’s a confidence problem. I believe that a lot of people struggle with confidence today. We know more about what others are doing and it can become a constant distraction.

The Real Problem

It takes a lot of confidence to raise your rates. It could mean losing a client. But do you want a client who does not respect your worth? Nope.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been busting it over the last few years. I’m learning and growing as much as possible. I’m always trying to improve my craft. I know for a fact I’m better today than I was a year ago. A lot better. And I am willing to bet that you are too.

--

--

Jim Woods
Write STUFF

I help small businesses, writers, and non-profit organizations repurpose their content and create books. Contact me: Jimwoodswrites@gmail.com