What The Medium Partner Program Changes Mean For Writers

Jim Woods
Write STUFF
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2019

--

Wow, you open up your email and find out… everything has changed. At least that’s what I first thought when I heard about Medium changing the Medium Partner Program.

As of 10/28/19, Medium is completely changing how we are paid for our writing.

Here are the highlights.

Photo by Author/Medium.com

So what’s this mean? Claps and responses (aka interaction) are not part of the payment equation. It’s all about reading now.

I’m curious about the new metrics, I’d assume they will breakdown the “readthru rate” to some extent. That makes a lot of sense to me.

So Do Claps No Longer Matter?

Hold on for a second. I wouldn’t go that far. Here’s what Medium says about that:

“We want to listen to input from more of your readers, not just the ones who remember to 👏. Claps will remain a great way for readers to support stories they love. When your readers clap, they’ll boost your stories to a wider audience. And as more people read, you’ll earn.”

So clapping is still important. Here’s the way I look at it…

--

--

Jim Woods
Write STUFF

I help small businesses, writers, and non-profit organizations repurpose their content and create books. Contact me: Jimwoodswrites@gmail.com