12 Months On Medium — Is It Worth My Time

I have a mix of thoughts

Samra
Write To Inspire

--

I joined Medium one year ago and the journey has been full of challenges. I didn’t know what to write and how to engage audiences. I was totally blank. I didn’t want to work for top publications because I knew that the rate of rejection is high and that I would never become as productive as I wanted. I had heard a lot about curators being picky. People told me that I wouldn’t gain recognition and fame self-publishing my content.

Despite all these doubts and concerns, I decided to give Medium a try. I self-published all of my stories except a few ones that have been published with Illumination, and it took me a couple of months to gain momentum. Medium curators chose my stories for further distribution and most of my articles are still trending on the platform.

Is It Worth My Time?

I have a mix of thoughts. Sometimes I feel that we, the writers, can make more money if we are paid based on internal and external views rather than for reading time. Views remain down. Medium stats suck. There is no set way to determine how much money we will earn per 1000 reads. Blogging income has reduced since the day Medium started giving bonuses.

I have to admit that our money is being stripped away. We don’t want those writer programs…

--

--