What’s Worked For Me

A 5-Part Alternative Health Series — PART I

Kim Smyth
Write To Inspire
3 min readAug 5, 2021

--

When my mom passed away in 2014 from complications of PKD* (which I inherited), I decided to start thinking about getting in better shape and revamping my diet. I started taking my health more seriously.

I also knew I wanted to be a writer, so I looked into blogging, but first things first. I had purchased a book on alternative health medicine, featuring all kinds of herbs and other things that God meant for us to use to stay healthy. One does not have to go to the doctor for pills to “fix” oneself if you start with preventative measures.

With the internet booming, I soon discovered essential oils, what they could do for me, and I began researching all I could find on the subject. I found a company that sells quality essential oils and began my journey using them in several different ways. One way was to diffuse them. I was given a diffuser in my introductory kit, so I started with lavender for better sleep. It smelled heavenly, and I believe it helped not only me but my husband as well. I didn’t know and found out later, certain oils are toxic to pets when diffusing them, so be careful and do your research!

As I continued to research, I became bolder and started using them in my drinking water. I trusted this company for creating certified pure, high-quality, rigorously tested essential oils. The company I was with says right in their brochure that it is safe in the correct dosage. Dr. Axe, another health guru that I follow (and I’ve met in person) ensured me that it is safe as well.

I learned what oils are safe to consume, diffuse, apply topically, and more. I also learned which oils are “hot”, which means they need to be diluted with a carrier oil, such as fractionated coconut, before use. Of course, I followed the manufacturer’s directions and only used one to two drops daily to prevent accidental toxicity.

What happened was miraculous to me. Lemon and Frankincense, for instance, gave me the energy to start walking again. Eventually, I had worked up to three miles a day! The weight started coming off and I had the energy to do more activities. My mood stabilized, and eventually, I was able to wean myself off of my anti-depressant medication. I told my doctor about it and he gave me kudos for being able to do that.

My bloodwork was normal, indicating I had no adverse reaction to the oils, so I kept experimenting with different ones. Another in my ‘toolkit’ was Oregano essential oil. It works like nature’s antibiotic. Any time I felt like a cold was coming on, I would use a drop of Oregano in some hot tea and by the next day, I was feeling better! Peppermint is also a great one for focus and uplifting moods. Bergamot smells wonderful and when I diffuse that, my well-being improves, and I feel less lethargic. Frankincense helps me to focus, and when I’m writing, I sometimes diffuse that.

(The internet is saturated with articles about essential oils and their benefits, I didn’t feel it necessary to go into it too much here. If you would like more information on the companies I use and trust, ask me by email or pm me.)

I would never suggest anyone try the things that I did the way I did it. I should have consulted an aromatherapist or a doctor of homeopathic medicine, however, I am a bit of a risk-taker, and I simply got lucky, which I attribute to my diligent research before trying the product. The company I was with, provides excellent information on their website, and since I was a member, I could source any material I needed to. I also listened to health podcasts and learned so much about gut health and how we should get off of processed food and start eating whole foods. That will be covered in PART II of my series.

*PKD-polycystic kidney disease

--

--

Kim Smyth
Write To Inspire

Freelance writer/blogger, editor-creator of Twisted Trunk Travels-my new travel blog.