SPIRITUALITY | NEW BEGINNINGS

A New Beginning, When The Truth Is Exposed

Truth or lie, do you know what you traded yourself for?

pockett dessert
Write Under the Moon
5 min readJan 16, 2024

--

sunrise, a new day, bare winter branches | nature photography | © pockett dessert, new day
© pockett dessert, beginnings

My robe exposes truths and, to my love’s amusement, more skin. He smiles as I lean over, my bathrobe fluttering freely as our lips meet in a soft, lingering kiss.

He notices my frustration as I snug up my bathrobe. The disappearance of my elusive belt continues to baffle me.

I head to the loft for morning meditation, leaving him to drift back to sleep.

Without a belt to hold it all together, I am coming undone.

What I do today
is
important
because I am exchanging
a day of my life for it.
When tomorrow comes
this day will be gone forever
leaving in its place something I have traded for it.
Dr. W. Heartsill Wilson

sunrise, dawn’s pink, purple and blue light across a calm lake | © pockett dessert, dawn
© pockett dessert, transformation

Lavender light transforms my loft into a sanctuary of uninterrupted solitude. I sit with myself, accepting what is—wandering thoughts, sadness, a dull headache, and the cramp in my foot.

Last night, my kids bickered over petty issues. I walked away instead of saying, Stop

--

--

pockett dessert
Write Under the Moon

🧿 writer‿.➶ ° *➴ artist ‿.➶ ° *➴ photographer ‿.➶ ° *➴ certified reiki master | Editor for Write Under the Moon and heart trails pub