And Blue Looks Good On You

A poem

--

Flamboyant (flower) against blue sky
Image by author

And blue looks good on you,
The cobalt blue, just a bit lighter.
Striking against the sunlit sky,
The white of the clouds.
Your smile brazen, yet naïve,
Like the blue wildflowers in bloom,
Blue looks good on you.

And blue looks good on you,
The pale blue against our dusty bed,
The blues of your mood, and your gait,
The blues that spreads to my soul,
And your eyes like a faraway lake
Dark, and deep as always,
Blue looks good on you.

And blue looks good on you,
The blues of the darkest nights,
The remains of the blue,
On my thoughts and tears.
Like cobalt in the rock, shining,
The core I have touched.
Can I keep forever the blue of your soul
With the red of my being?

--

--

Smita Roy Trivedi, PhD
Write Under the Moon

An economist by profession, I write on issues close to my heart. Views are personal.