Bare skin.

Keep away but stand near.

Manu Kiza
Write Under the Moon
2 min readSep 14, 2022

--

Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

When I let you in
Don’t you dare close the door on me
I kept it locked for so long
I couldn’t remember where I put the key.

I self-consciously peeled layers back
Somehow made you shed tears
Bare my skin like an onion
You can smell the lingering fear.

Pride left me long ago
The ground is closer than ever before
Yet bending on one knee still feels too personal
If you want in I may just never open the door.

© Manu Kiza 2022.

Thank you for reading.

I am on a mission to serve and empower as many people as possible until I can’t do so anymore (999,999 + 1 to be exact). I am not a writer, but I am a passionate human being who likes to share his thoughts through writing and speaking forms. Follow me on this journey and let’s enjoy the ride together. Please connect with me if you have any comments or suggestions, as I would be glad to receive any of your feedback.

How was this article? If you enjoyed it, let others know about it and spread the love.

Click here to subscribe to my blog and stay up to date on each new post :

--

--

Manu Kiza
Write Under the Moon

Contrarian thinker, challenging the way we see the world and finding roots in being an outcast.