Poetry

Blackbird Watch

Guardians of the land

Dave Logan
Write Under the Moon
Apr 10, 2024

--

Two crows sitting on an electrical wire.
Photo taken by Author

Sitting inside
I hear a caw,
it pierces my brain
while drawing attention
to the outside world.

I head out the back door,
look up and see,
two blackbirds
gazing down at me.

They stare into my soul
sending a shiver down
my spine, these mysterious birds
know something’s coming
down the line.

Their friends circle around
shouting in that ear-splitting way,
letting each other know
danger is coming this way.

I look up and watch
as these feathered friends
gaze upon the land,
watching over those
who need a helping hand.

© Dave Logan 2024

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Dave Logan
Write Under the Moon

Independent Bookstore Manager, Book Nerd, Storyteller, Mental Health Advocate. Writer & Editor @ Write Under the Moon.