Can it be yesterday?

Memories of you.

Manu Kiza
Write Under the Moon
3 min readSep 16, 2022

--

Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

Yesterday felt like the first time again
Safe and uncomfortable
Your eyes were glowing with trust
And filled with fear
I was a piece of you again
You made me a part of your everything

It made me ask
How can we be so close but not know each other?

Yesterday you grinned and I was taken off guard
Lately, it seems like your pain has left me scarred
I’ve only known the sides of your lips to meet your chin
And mistaken it for a smile
It felt new and I was mesmerized
I thought that what had been lost was finally found

It made me ask
Do you not know that laughter is a remedy?

Yesterday you said your love would never fade
But it left as quickly as it came
Like an eraser to a whiteboard
You wiped it away with no remorse
Left no trace
I was hurt and appalled

It made me ask
Why can’t we write together instead?

Yesterday I missed you
Sitting right by you felt cold
As if I was staring at a ghost
You were transparent and empty
I missed you and you weren’t even gone yet
I swear I wanted you all to myself
But couldn’t grasp any part of you

It made me ask
When did I lose you?

Yesterday you gazed and finally spoke
You cracked a little joke
Showed a little bit of hope
But all I could feel was despair
It felt like I should care
But instead walked through you
Like a curtain

It made me ask
What happened to forever again?

Yesterday is a distant memory
But every day feels like it
I shouldn’t keep reminiscing
But when I don’t I feel numb
I wish I could’ve tried to empathize with your pain
Instead of writing you off like a disclaimer

It made me ask
Where did you go?

Yesterday is filled with regrets
What happened to us?
I’ve known you to be full of life
And now can’t even remember
What your face looked like before now became forever

It made me ask
Will I ever see you again?

Yesterday was spent picking up the pieces
You sporadically left behind
But putting them back together felt like an impossible task
Just like the last day, I saw you when I was too hurt to look you in the eyes
Yesterday was 10 years ago

It made me ask
Can you see me when I look up at the stars and are you proud?

© Manu Kiza 2022.

This is an ode to you, my dear. You are missed incisively and no one day goes by without me thinking of you. I’m sorry it took me so long to talk to you again but the void you left is much bigger than I could explain.

Thank you for reading.

I am on a mission to serve and empower as many people as possible until I can’t do so anymore (999,999 + 1 to be exact). I am not a writer, but I am a passionate human being who likes to share his thoughts through writing and speaking forms. Follow me on this journey and let’s enjoy the ride together. Please connect with me if you have any comments or suggestions, as I would be glad to receive any of your feedback.

How was this article? If you enjoyed it, let others know about it and spread the love.

Click here to subscribe to my blog and stay up to date on each new post :

--

--

Manu Kiza
Write Under the Moon

Contrarian thinker, challenging the way we see the world and finding roots in being an outcast.