POETRY | MEMORIES | POETIC EXPRESSIONS

Dawning Dusk and Colloquies with Moondust

Free Verse

A.H. Mehr
Write Under the Moon
2 min readMay 18, 2024

--

Image of Galaxy, Night, Moon and Twinkling Stars, and a Mystical Colorful Vision Around.
Image Created By Author With Bing Image Creator

Silvery silhouettes of you, I see,
at a dawning dusk.

Sometimes whole. At times, crescent.
Intermittently invisible with a pale loop of light.
Seldom bent. Rarely, a distortion.
Every so often, new. Is that you?
How I wish I get to see you in person too?

I’ve gathered grainy moondust from
years gone by, in shiny crumpled
foils; folded neat, held safe —
in a corner of my sky.

I visit this phantasmal
sky of mine, often…
despite the racking agony,
to converse with you…
through the dry moondust.

Each time I unlock this flaky foil,
an acrid aroma greets me,
layer by layer.

I scatter the dust…
… I write your name
with my index finger.

When I see your name,
I am compelled to recollect our:
patient yearnings for

--

--

A.H. Mehr
Write Under the Moon

Graphophile - In a small way, but loving this aesthete's journey.