Poetry | Journaling

Diving into my Diary

Writing about writing

Madison Lynne
Write Under the Moon
1 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Image of a thunderstorm over the ocean at night.
Photo by Nicolas Jossi on Unsplash

Answering the magnetic pull to write,
I reach with my mind, pen poised at paper,
deep into a night-dark ocean of dreams
catching hold of my shadow’s outstretched hand.

I and my shadow stare intently into each other’s eyes, while
my pen scratches across the page, possessed.
It almost has a mind of its own-
Who is really writing?

Clouds of sadness cloak my head.
Rain drips, slowly at first, then faster
as the thoughts pelt me and I smear the ink
on the lovely, lined pages.

Violent waves of untended memory and thought surge,
making me sea-sick, til I vomit choice words all about,
tossing ad nauseum, yet
my shadow refuses to abandon me.

Meanwhile the gales shout and thunder proclaims that
my world is not as I thought before.
Shocked, I succumb to tossing currents
and crash on the rocks and sand of clarity.

This storm, like all others, passes.
My shadow releases my hand as the rain
and the clouds move on,
replaced by Milky Way and moonbeams.

--

--

Madison Lynne
Write Under the Moon

I’m passionate about the magic of poetry. Sorting through shadows, and keeping an eye out for glimmers. 💜 ☕️ ko-fi.com/madisonlynne ☕️