EPEOLATRY

Your shelves can talk if you listen.

Holly
Write Under the Moon
1 min readApr 23, 2021

--

I have books that I haven’t read
I keep them together like they need a friend
They have a home and a place for wonder
where I can stop to gaze and ponder
the knowledge they hold
the paper
the ink
waiting for me
and my eyes to sink
into a world of mystery
history
drama and gore
macabre subjects
never a bore

I search endlessly for the perfect one
it needs a home
it needs to be loved
No mass market need apply
Older editions have secrets inside

They stay on my shelves
so proud
so loved

and one day it’s their turn
their words engross
how long has it been
since I’ve flipped through Verne

Poetry packed on a shelf with plays
History has two, depends on the day
Shipwrecks and nautical non-fiction
Even the fiction has a historical mission

Don’t worry little book
The information you indite
is nothing I will overlook
I have notebooks to write

Full of information you’ve given me
to save and inquire
You open my mind to see
the wonders that this realm contains

--

--