POETRY

Fear

When you grow up with it…

River's Writings
Write Under the Moon
Jan 16, 2024

--

Photo by Hamed Hosseini on Unsplash

When you grow up with
Fear
As your best friend
It’s hard to part
To say, ‘Enough!’
And close that door
And fill all the cracks
Through which
A way can be found
Inside

When fear becomes
The norm
Painting frames of
“Normal”
It’s hard to change
And transform

It’s even harder
When it’s no longer
Outside but within
No longer a cloud
Looming above
No longer a friend
In the dark
But one intertwined
With your mind
Messing with your head
Thoughts
Reality
And
Just
Trying to
Destroy
Who
You
Are

Thank you to everyone who reads this. I appreciate all the support and feedback.💙

Thank you to Write Under the Moon. I’m grateful for this safe place and everyone here! 🌕🌔🌖

If you want to receive an email whenever I publish my writings, you can subscribe here.

--

--

River's Writings
Write Under the Moon

I write poetry about mental health, trauma, relationships, and more. Writing is my journey of reclaiming my power and becoming the author of my life. 📖