POETRY

Hermit

Just two unlikely friends

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon

--

Hermit crab
Photo by Christina Victoria Craft on Unsplash

Where did you come from, little one?
Crawl up on my hand
I didn't expect to find you here
Though I’ve built my house of sand
Did you come to feast on tid bits
The tide had washed ashore?
Or have you come to warn me
That the sun is up no more?
How long have you watched me, darling?
And how many others too?
As morning cringed the hardest
And the evening sighed in blue
On your way now, hermit
Go find another friend
My feet and hands are frozen
And my pain is at an end

This is a poem that I hope bridges both bleak and beautiful. It’s about a hermit crab discovering a body buried on a beach. I have been watching too much “Death in Paradise”. Happy Reading.

--

--

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon

Elizabeth Mavis Hilsch 💫 I want to write poems that help you put words to feelings that are hard to describe.