How (Not) To Build An Honest Relationship

Lady Teabird
Write Under the Moon
2 min readJan 2, 2022

Courtesy of: When In Doubt…Zulema and Odette

Watching Out by Lady Teabird

“Why didn’t you tell me about him? About them?”

“Would it have changed anything?”

“I thought we were being honest.”

“I was being honest. I never lied to you.”

“But you didn’t tell me the truth either.”

“I told you what you needed to know.” Zulema said as she tried to get closer to Odette.

“Did I ever make you feel like you couldn’t be honest with me?” Odette barely managed to say.

“No, no, of course not.” Zulema spoke gingerly, the words cuddling up beside Odette.

“Then why?” The hurt in Odette’s voice stabbed through Zulema.

“I kind of liked knowing that there was a whole section of my life that you didn’t have access to. That you couldn’t have access to unless I let you in. That’s the great thing about being far away from home: there’s no one to remind you about who you used to be, who you still are in that place where everyone owns you and yet nobody wants you. You didn’t need to know that. I don’t want you to know that about me.”

“But I want to know.”

“It doesn’t scare you?”

“I’m just hurt that you thought that I wouldn’t figure out that what he said, it wasn’t you.”

Zulema smiled without humor, tempted to soothe Odette even though she was the one who needed the soothing. “That’s where you’re wrong. It was me. It still is.”

“It isn’t. I would know.” Odette told her desperately.

“You know what I’ve wanted you to know. What don’t you get about that?” Zulema exhaled wearily.

Thank you for reading!

Keep an eye out for more enlightening conversations between Zulema and Odette in their never ending quest for meaning.

--

--

Lady Teabird
Write Under the Moon

Still trying to figure out where I am but I’m pretty sure I’m off by a continent, a few galaxies, and…yep, I just missed the last turn to nowhere.