I Am Not a Mother (Yet), Even Though I Birth Many Things

Poem

Janine Friedrich
Write Under the Moon
1 min readApr 30, 2023

--

Foto von Jonathan Borba auf Unsplash

By common definition
I am not a mother (yet)
Even though I birth many things

I am in labor all my life
Pain and joy intertwine
I birth creative outbursts
Bring new ideas to life
And let emotions thrive
Something clearly divine

By common definition
I am not a mother (yet)
Even though I conceive offspring

I bring many things to life
The Muse keeps me pregnant all the time
I let a creative force clear my mind
And nourish the future newborns that grow inside
So, please, can someone have the authorities
Rewrite this common definition

Because I am clearly a mother of more than one child

💚 Thank you for reading! Follow me on Medium if you are happy to read more inspiring content. If you like this piece, show some love by clapping or commenting. Thank you! My poetry book, Glimmer of Hope, is available here. You can also connect with me via my website.

--

--

Janine Friedrich
Write Under the Moon

Passionate writer & poet. Topics: Spirituality, Body Mind & Soul, Sexuality, Health, Self-Compassion, Personal Development.