I Dug a Simple Shallow Grave

Poetry

Connie Song
Write Under the Moon
Jun 15, 2024

--

words
credit Wosephjeber on licensed iStock

I dug a simple shallow grave
filled with tangled words and sharp machetes
borrowed money
stolen dreams
ingenious plans
one night stands
fickle lovers
and assorted enemies.

I sailed upon the frozen sea
an iceberg almost the death of me
love just a swollen fantasy
retribution a delusion
incarceration someone’s infatuation.

One night I could not fall asleep
the moon had pounded down the door
I slowly crept along the floor
the words hemorrhaging like before,
evicted from their shallow grave.

© Connie Song 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Write Under the Moon

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.