Beat the Block Challenge: Day 1

I Will Not Waste My Life in Friction

… When it could be turned into momentum

Diana C.
Write Under the Moon
2 min readOct 18, 2021

--

Image by Syaibatul Hamdi from Pixabay

When we step into our honesty with bold expressions of our fullness (including proclamations of pain and struggle), we gain momentum in life. We make a way through chaos as chaos makes its way through us, and that is evolution.

This past year, I gained momentum by embodying vulnerability as an-going practice of relational connection in ways that I never considered before. While I still sometimes revert to my old ways of dealing with stress and hurt, mostly, I grant others access to my inner world more than I used to in the past. I can now see how wonderful and rewarding this process can be, as it creates a share sense of intimacy that I never believed was possible a few years ago.

Vulnerability is the pathway to authentic connection — there’s no doubt left about that. It allows us all to be met in our inherent need for support and care while we navigate whatever we’re navigating at any moment in time. For someone like me, that’s a big deal. I have operated outside my needs and desires through childhood, teenage years and beginning of my twenties.

Connection still feels scary because there’s potential for pain in everything, always. Yet, when we shift our focus from minimizing this potential to creating a world we don’t run from, we gain momentum, which multiplies the opportunity for growth.

Like Frances E. Willard said, I will not waste my time in friction when it could be turned into momentum. That’s what valuing adaptation and embodying my power for change looks like.

If you wish to join me on this 10-day challenge, please refer to this article. Thanks!

--

--

Diana C.
Write Under the Moon

Founder & Editor of KTHT. Here to pen, polish and provoke thoughts / linktr.ee/ktht