POETRY | GHAZAL | POETIC EXPRESSIONS

Identity, Nemesis, Cryptic-Friendly Shadows

Ghazal Poem

A.H. Mehr
Write Under the Moon
2 min readMay 1, 2024

--

A Beautiful Girl, Scarf Over Her Head, Holding Brightness Surrounded by A Dreamy Background of Water and Moon
Image Created By Author With Bing Image Creator

I’m a prisoner of my thoughts. Will I be a forever captive or will it take forever for me to be freed? I’m at a loss.
I don’t remember a moment of fault from me. Whose advice do I need and heed? I’m at a loss.

Pursuits of truth can’t be imprisoned, can’t be stopped, and cannot be questioned. They won’t be mute.
Will they unfurl like tassels, from woven silky sash, that are buried in crests of lies? Will they be tough to read? I’m at a loss.

I distantly heard a narration of my own existence in a smoldering mystique-like gathering.
Was this a belief, a vagary, a vision? Did the interpreter of my dreams yield? I’m at a loss.

Paths of honor beckon me far and wide despite the hidden triviality of their countless, vivid boulevards.
Did I stride out sober or intoxicated? Where are my footprints and my field? I’m at a loss.

Valuable volumes of goodness have a seal of love and approval from the powerful hand of nature.
Will blooming flowers from cracks of mealy crags suffice as proof for our creed? I’m at a loss.

--

--

A.H. Mehr
Write Under the Moon

Graphophile - In a small way, but loving this aesthete's journey.