I’ve Seriously Been Contemplating as to Whether or Not to Walk out of Someone’s Life

And you won’t believe the reason either.

Terry L. Cooper
Write Under the Moon

--

Image by Jose Antonio Alba from Pixabay / Image by StockSnap from Pixabay / Image by Gioele Fazzeri from Pixabay

It’s because I’m madly, deeply, and hopelessly in love with him.

But he doesn’t know that.

So now what? I haven’t a bloody clue. At the ripe old age of soon-to-be 60, I’m filled with more love for him than fear of telling him but the fear is damn close. When I lie awake at night thinking about telling him, how to, and what the aftermath would look like, the fear is ahead of the love by a mile.

If I tell him and he doesn’t feel the same way then I’ve set myself up for rejection. Plus I have the additional burden of knowing that I’ve now made him very uncomfortable and perhaps even hurt him in the process. How? Because he’s a sweet and sensitive man and he would begin to wonder what he did, what misstep he took that ended up with me having a broken heart.

I don’t want to do that to him.

I could just walk away and not say anything. An unrequited love to me is better than a rejected love. This option seems to be the lesser of all evils. I don’t think he’d even miss me. He’s very popular and not only does his cup runneth over so does his plate. In the whirlwind that is his life, I doubt one less person in it would…

--

--

Terry L. Cooper
Write Under the Moon

Writer for this platform since June 2020. See my pinned post for links to locate me all over the WWW.