POETRY | FICTION

Leaves Dancing in the Rain

A poem

Idris Jimoh
Write Under the Moon
2 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Illustration of two humanoid figures with leaf-like features dancing under a gentle rainfall.
Image Fully Illustrated by Author

It rains, it pours, and it’s loud fall
moves me to look out the window.
Getting off the bed messes
it up slightly and I don’t care.
My window is closed and refuses
to open, but I wanted to see
the rain’s beauty outside.
So I take a piece of clothing,
tie it around my knuckles,
and punch the glassy barrier until
it shatters and bursts open.

The wind gets me first.
It’s breezy movement disturbs my eyes
a little but I must see its effects.
I open my eyelids again forcefully
and for a brief moment between
a closed and half-opened eye,
I see a tiny couple dancing.
I shockingly opened them wide again
and all I saw were leaves fluttering.
I know now what I must do.

A split vision only wide enough to
see a blurry world was the sole way
to capture this leafy masterpiece.
I must paint it down on paper
as best I…

--

--

Idris Jimoh
Write Under the Moon

I'm just an average guy trying to share the things I've learned so far in life