Missing Person

This is your fault, not mine

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon
1 min readNov 23, 2023

--

Photo by Michael Förtsch on Unsplash

Run away, then
We won't be missing you here
You're a pain and a burden
Take your huffs and your sneers

Hide for all I care
Don't expect us to seek
Do you think all the world waits
For you to turn cheek?

It's too late to go looking
I've got my slippers on
I'm not really bothered
About where or how long

Who calls at this hour?
Did he say police?
I'm not having them round
Disturbing the peace

Why didn't anyone panic?
Where were you when she fell?
It wasn't my job
To save her from herself

What do you mean it's forever?
Don't tell me to see
This just doesn't happen
To people like me

You shouldve been there
Just how bad is your batch?
We're here to fall
And you're there to catch

I'll hold you responsible
I'll come down like a tonne
But not until tomorrow
I've got my slippers on

Thanks to you for reading and to Write Under The Moon for publishing!

--

--

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon

Elizabeth Mavis Hilsch 💫 I want to write poems that help you put words to feelings that are hard to describe.