Moon Water

Jude Snowden
Write Under the Moon
1 min readApr 26, 2022
Photo by Cole Parrant on Unsplash

I dream of pools of water on the surface of the moon

They are overfull of a brine unlike that of the salt sea

Their taste is foreign, their color drained, their waves do sleep

Sorrowful, they lay cold placid, so unmoved by my swoon

Far away and off do these languid waters lie by day

But in my unending dreams they come close to me to weep

The waters wash over me and their unknown salt runs free

Oddly sweet, like confection of a dull and painful way

When I wake, the salt lingers on my lips in sheer regret

Those tears are not mine to taste, my rude dream has intruded

Yet the waters of the moon are so sweet in my vain mind

They hold me and kiss me in a way I cannot forget

At first I thought I could nigh ignore these selfish fancies

But they only pulled me the harder, as though silver-lined

In night, enveloped in love, but in day so excluded

Oh those sweet waters do pull, and I hope that man so sees

--

--