POETRY | DREAMS | LIFE | VISIONS | MOON

My Imperishable Dream

A poem about fragile undying dreams

Nikos Skordilis
Write Under the Moon
2 min readJun 23, 2024

--

On the right there is a handmade cloth item with the words ‘Dream Big’, a smiling cloud and a rainbow above them. Right below that there is a scissors and a sewing needle. On the left there is pink basket with light pastel blue twine wrapped with a Red Cross North America branded paper which writes “With Love”.
Image of a light pastel blue handmade item by Jane Carmona on Unsplash

I ditched my imperishable dream
to bleed alone in a gutter
I left it barely breathing
with hardly a heartbeat felt

I watched as the Moon
was reflected off its blood
its silver light was so cold
it gutted me to my core

my imperishable dream
looked at me with disappointment
drawn all over its face
an unblinking, haunting gaze
stabbing, slaying my very soul

a You screwed up again fool look
I cannot endure its gaze
and yet I see it everywhere
even with my eyes wide shut

my dream is bleeding but it's safe
it is imperishable after all
it cannot die, quite unlike me

my dream will perish
only when I will
but each time I ditch it
each time I betray it
each time I run from it

--

--

Nikos Skordilis
Write Under the Moon

Curious Top 0.1% content creator trying to gain a more beautiful mind and a lighter heart via his words and visuals.