Poetry

My Tulips

A poem written by an elephant fly

Doodleslice
Write Under the Moon
2 min readJun 25, 2024

--

A drawing of cartoon elephants with little blue wings. They are drawn over a photo of a field of tulips. The original photo is by Libby Penner as sourced from Unsplash. Drawing by Doodleslice 2024.
Elephant Flies, by Doodleslice 2024 (drawn over a photo by Libby Penner)

I will tiptoe
Light as Tinkerbell
Tink-tink
Tippy-tink
Dancing nimbly up the handrail
Slippy-tink
Tippy-tink
No branch is too thin
As I rustle across the canopy
Forever green
Forever young

Once
I was tempted
To step lightly
In fresh tilled soil
A trap
Set by worms
Blind and indifferent
Never again
I kissed the earth but once
And spent weeks
Scrubbing my face
My lips
Were raw
Unkissed

Tsk-tink

Never never

Bright on the blossoms
Light as dew
Never-muck
Never mind

Tulips are fine
But too close
To the dirt

--

--

Doodleslice
Write Under the Moon

Artist and Poet. Imperfectionist. I hope my poems and art bring you some joy. I believe you should be you - be an interesting Earthling. Be a beacon.