Sonnet

Night Mare

frenemies

A. Gee
Write Under the Moon
1 min readJul 28, 2024

--

AI image of a black stallion
image generated by author prompt to Midjourney

A sudden start: I’m on a moonlit plain,
up to my waist in gently swaying grass.
The air is warm and wet, it smells like rain.
The sky’s up close, a magnifying glass.

A rolling thunder turns into a mare,
dark, living shadow, eyes like orange embers,
her nostrils glow and sparkle as they flare.
I take a step towards her. She remembers

and lets me get up close. That’s right, she knows,
we do not need to labor or pretend.
Her hot breath on my face, we’re nose to nose.
An enemy so old, she’s like a friend.

Well, shall we ride again, just you and I?
The stars wink out and darkness fills the sky.

© A. Gee, 2024. All rights reserved.

Thank you for reading this through to the end.

I write mostly formal poetry, sometimes soulful, often irreverent, and sometimes downright bawdy. Think Dr. Seuss collaborates with Chaucer. Well, maybe halfway. If you find that intriguing, more is available here

--

--

A. Gee
Write Under the Moon

A. Gee has been playing with words since he was little, and has finally been talked into sharing.