A Monarch butterfly dancing with a lilac in front of a bright blue sky
GIF by Author Jenny Lane

Oh, Those Wings of a Monarch in Deep Summer Winds

When I give my human back to Mother Earth, will my spirit feel a phantom body?

Jenny Lane
Write Under the Moon
3 min readFeb 28, 2024

--

When I give my human back to Mother Earth, will my Spirit feel a phantom body?

Will I miss the way an Earth lilac smells in Spring? Petrichor on the forest floor? Lambi melting in my mouth. The way our lips touched in daylight in nightlight?

The soft smooth ridges upon a blade of grass between my fingertips. Our Sun rebooting my being. The way of the joys and sorrows. The pains and the pleasures of this sensual humanity in the gift of being human.

Will I miss being Earthly, the grit and goodness?

Oh, but those wings of a Monarch in deep Summer winds.

I am to cherish these interconnected moments now. So if there's a missing, I return only to enjoy it again.

I return in compassion and love. I write, I art to be free in this compassion and love. For a Now of All in compassion and love.

The Earth will still spin, the rain will still fall, the flowers still bloom. But I hope you remember my heart in your laughter. My hand reaching out for you to stand strong. The whisper of a kindness in the days when the sun hides your smile, you will still see mine in all…

--

--

Jenny Lane
Write Under the Moon

An overthinking human who writes to make room in her mind and peace in our hearts. Art and words are my love letters to the world.