Poem: Breakdown at the Door

Kate Orione
Write Under the Moon
Dec 7, 2023

--

Photo by Vitaliy Zalishchyker on Unsplash

You arrived unannounced,
I didn’t invite you.
Locked the door, closed the windows,
Played the music,
Pretending not to hear your persistent knocks.

Yet, you forced your way in.
I was scared and alone,
Screaming at you to leave.
But you stayed, held my hand,
So I faced you, met your eyes.

And then, the pain dormant deep within,
Burst out, overwhelming every cell of my body.
I wept, tears of the utmost despair, dry ones.
I screamed the most haunting scream ever, a silent one.

Sitting on the floor, I fall from the summit,
Crashing to the ground, shattered into fragments.
Shall I be rebuilt?
I do not know, perhaps, or never.

Yet, I am still alive, within these scattered pieces,
So tread carefully in my presence,
Lest any be broken,
For they are all significant; they are all me.

--

--