Remorse

A poem

Alan Campbell
Write Under the Moon
Aug 25, 2024

--

Photo illustration of a shattered window in Black and White
Fractured©By Author

Shards, strewn across our dusty floor.
Forcefully, I scattered them there,
each a thought that congested my raging mind,
now, simply debris below floating ash.

Delicately stepping around the detritus,
rays of light stream over the scene.
Sharp shadows, shaping haphazard intent,
glowing amber-red colors cement my mood.

Fear drips down the nape of my neck,
it penetrates my courage.
I pause, catching a reflection,
the point of your diamond glistens.

Is it real,
real in a tangible way?
What have I done?
Hopeless, I cradle our memories,
feebly, I weep.

Pain and suffering juxtaposed on the floor.
Soaked by tears, I am exhausted by remorse.
Frantic, I pick you up shard by shard, grain by grain.
All the remaining pieces of you I have left to worship.

--

--

Alan Campbell
Write Under the Moon

A story teller. I created images for others for years. I am finally opening my creativity on the flat plane. Join me. Curious what you'll find in my words.