WRITE UNDER THE MOON

Rewind Awakenings

Remembering an Icon

Karen Patterson- Dare to Dream
Write Under the Moon
4 min readJul 1, 2024

--

https://www.vecteezy.com/free-photos/nature-photography

After reading a posted suggestion written by one of my favorite authors Michael Oken. This weekend I revisited this groundbreaking story about the man who invented the drug that keeps me walking, talking, and driving. I’ve watched this movie a few times since it was released in 1990, one of many movies starring the icon Robin Williams. It is a bittersweet irony that he would eventually succumb to that very disease. The documentary footage showing him preparing to play the doctor was revealing in itself, specifically regarding Robin Williams's interest in the turrets patients.

Each time I watch that movie, much like when you read a favorite book in multiple stages of life, I see it with new eyes. The last time we watched it was in 2016 when young onset Parkinson’s disease was first added to my very full chart. It was enlightening for me, but not so much for the family and to be honest, life was just too busy and chaotic. The movie was one of many he made that was never meant to be a comedy. With the loss of my medical in the world of self-employed struggles, no one was laughing. Including me.

This time around I couldn’t help but notice three different familiar movements Robin Williams displayed within the first 15 min of the movie. Use of his hands. An edgie. Slight…

--

--