Sacred (Dete(st)ation)

Snehal Saju
Write Under the Moon
2 min readNov 28, 2023
Photo by Maan Limburg on Unsplash

I can’t sit here any longer
But I can’t breathe on your chair
There’s agony creeping in my skin
She swarms me like locusts around my chest

A graph is never linear they say
You don’t love yourself in one day
Hatred creeps into my chest
And through my blood, she finds her way

I hate my skin. No, I hate my legs.
It doesn’t take me places anywhere.
She limps and limps begging for
excuses to take more rest.

I am never enough. Oh, I can never be
Pretty, talented and smart aren't the adjectives to describe me.
I am not a poet. Nor am I poetry.
Neither am I art nor can her painter I ever be.

I stab erasers like I were a kindergartener
I wish I could remember
If I wanted pain or were but rooting
for serial self killers

Time pretends to stop. She
pretends to slow down. My
skin abides within and she
makes me watch as I deform.

There isn't enough love in this
world. Nor is there enough hate.
I wish I could love myself a little,
but I wish my hate were more brave.

I am never enough. Oh, I can never be
Pretty, talented and smart aren’t the adjectives to describe me.
I am not a poet. Nor am I poetry.
Neither am I art nor can her painter I ever be.

--

--