Smile

God’s wonderful gift of hope

Aastha Bajaj
Write Under the Moon
2 min readDec 7, 2023

--

Photo by JC Gellidon on Unsplash

A smile
can do wonders!
When I am lost
and shattered
after surviving
a tempest,
When I am
trying to stitch
together the tattered
blanket of my soul,
a smile
of a stranger

crossing my path
fills me with hope
of a better future.
This simple
reassuring gesture
succeeds in
planting a ray
of hope
which days of
brooding had
failed to achieve.

A smile
can do wonders!
When adversity
reigns high
and nothing
falls in place,
when suffering
becomes a bit
too much
and pain
refuses to ebb,
a smile of
my delivery guy

reveals a new
world which
was hidden
behind my
four walls.
A glorious,
abundant,
ecstatic place
where happiness
bounces freely
on every
branch of tree
like a free
spirited squirrel.

A smile
can do wonders!
When I was
on the verge
of a heartbreak,
when my
dearest friendship
became distant.
When my days
became blank
and nights
filled with
clueless pondering
of the unfathomable
void that
crept suddenly
like a crater,
a smile of
my elderly
neighbor

sparked a
fresh vigor
stemming out
of gratitude
for all my
life’s blessings,
washing away
my self inflicted
agony rooted
in extra
dependence on
an already
perturbed soul,
who was figuring
out the jigsaw
of his own life.

A smile
can do wonders!
It is the most
potent, free
tool of
our life’s
toolkit which
we should use
as generously
as possible
because we
never know
when our beautiful,
warm smile
can turn around
someone’s world
for good
just like
it did for us!

--

--

Aastha Bajaj
Write Under the Moon

A keen observer who believes in learning from everyone and everything around her. I love to read and write and share thoughts on topics relating to living big.