Drawing of a large back spider in a web, and several smaller spiders around it,
Attention Spider — image created by author on NightCafe

FROM MY LIFE | DREAMS

The Symbolic Web: Spiders, Sunshine, and Subconscious Secrets

🦋 Marie A. Rebelle
Write Under the Moon
6 min readJun 21, 2024

--

In my waking hours, I’m terrified of spiders, but it’s happened many times in my life that I dreamed of spiders. Not so long ago, I had another of those.

My dream starts when I walk towards a room where the door is half open. The door opens to the left, and from outside the room, I can see into it, where my daughter sits at a desk against the right wall of the room.

There’s another person in the room, in a recliner. I can’t see him clearly, but know he’s there, and I sense it is my deceased father.

As I want to walk into the room, I push against the door to open it wider. Behind the door are many spiderwebs, with spiders of all sizes in it. One is so big, it resembles a spider crab, but it’s black, and kind of fluffy. Or at least, it looks like it. Its body is large and flat, and it just sits there, although its feet move on the web as I open the door.

Recoiling, while my daughter (who is as afraid of spiders as I am) just smiles at me, I notice more spiders, seeing them in detail. Some look threatening, or maybe I feel like that because I fear them. I retreat from the room…

--

--

🦋 Marie A. Rebelle
Write Under the Moon

❤️ Writer: fact and fiction; sometimes transgressive, sometimes erotic, always about life. | Owner: Serial Stories | Editor: Tantalizing Tales ❤️