The Agony of Concise Writing

What makes a good story?

Tree Langdon
Write Under the Moon
2 min readAug 17, 2022

--

six white dots against an orange background
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

The first I heard of the 10 words story challenge was in this article by Blogs by J, a new writer on Medium.

He was tagged in a challenge by Matt Patton, who was tagged in a challenge by Jennifer Barrios Tettay (Hey Jennifer!), who was challenged by Ben Ulansey (Hi Ben), who may have been challenged originally by Sheri Jacobs (Hi Sheri!).

The challenge is to write a story in 10 words

If you know me, you already know I appreciate concise writing. The last thing a reader wants is to wade through jargon or complex terminology.

In short, no one wants you to use your Big Words when a shorter answer works.

This challenge takes concise writing to the next level.

It immediately reminded me of a quote from the Season 4 Premiere of Yellowstone, an entertaining Netflix series.

--

--

Tree Langdon
Write Under the Moon

I write stories, and poetry, and create sketches inspired by my dreams for the world. https://wordsinmotion.substack.com/