Short Story

The Buzz of Solitude

The safehouse

Ani.
Write Under the Moon
3 min read6 days ago

--

a photo of a green painted wall
Photo by Jonathan Simcoe on Unsplash

The metallic hum of the drone above was incessant, like the city’s heartbeat – a mechanical throb that filled the empty sky. I hunched beneath a derelict overpass, the cracked concrete shielding me from the relentless sun. Around me, the remnants of civilization lay scattered, plastic bags and shattered screens telling tales of a world that once thrived.

“Keep moving,” Liza whispered, her eyes darting nervously toward the horizon. We’d been on the run for days, evading the ever-watchful eyes of the Surveillance Authority. In this new world order, privacy was an antiquated concept, a relic of a time long forgotten.

I nodded, rising to my feet and brushing the dust from my tattered clothes. “Where to now?” I asked though the answer was always the same. Forward. Always forward.

We navigated the labyrinthine streets, shadows of skyscrapers looming above us like silent sentinels. The city, once vibrant, now felt like a hollow shell, its soul sucked dry by the omnipresent government. The Reformation had promised a utopia, but we got this: endless oversight and stifling conformity.

Our destination was the Safehouse, a rumored sanctuary where the Resistance gathered, hidden deep within the urban sprawl. Liza had heard whispers of its location, encoded in graffiti adorning the city’s walls. We followed the clues, each step heavy with the weight of hope and desperation.

The streets grew colder as night fell, and the artificial lights cast eerie shadows. We ducked into an alley, the smell of decay mingling with a nearby vendor’s faint aroma of fried food. Liza checked her map, a crumpled piece of paper that had seen better days.

“Two more blocks,” she murmured, her voice barely audible. “Then left.”

We quickened our pace, the buzz of the drone growing louder as it neared. My heart pounded in my chest, each beat echoing in the silence. We reached the intersection and turned, only to be met by a figure standing in our path.

“Stop right there,” the figure commanded, their voice modulated by the mask they wore. My stomach tightened, fear coiling like a snake within me.

“We mean no harm,” Liza said, stepping forward. “We’re just looking for – ”

“The Safehouse,” the figure interrupted. “You’re almost there.” They stepped aside, revealing a door hidden in the shadows. “But be warned, not everyone inside is who they seem.”

We exchanged a glance, then approached the door cautiously. Liza knocked, a secret code we’d learned along the way. The door creaked open, revealing a dimly lit room filled with people – our people. Survivors, rebels, dreamers.

Inside, the air was thick with tension and unspoken words. Faces turned towards us, some welcoming, others wary. We found a corner and sat, exhaustion washing over us. A man approached, his eyes sharp and curious.

“Newcomers?” he asked. We nodded. “Welcome to the Safehouse,” he said, though his tone suggested it was anything but safe.

Days turned into weeks, and we integrated into the community, contributing to the Resistance’s efforts. The city outside remained oppressive, but within these walls was a semblance of freedom. I found solace in the routine, a strange comfort in the predictability of our rebellion.

But the figure’s warning lingered in my mind. Not everyone inside is who they seem.

One night, as the city slept under the watchful eyes of its mechanical sentinels, I noticed Liza speaking in hushed tones with a man I’d never seen before. Suspicion gnawed at me, but I pushed it aside, trusting our shared history.

Weeks later, the betrayal came. An ambush, the Safehouse raided, and our comrades captured. Liza was gone, her betrayal, a knife twisted in my gut. I escaped, a lone figure once more in the city’s labyrinth, the drone’s hum a constant reminder of our failed resistance.

I moved forward, always forward, the buzz of solitude my only companion. The city, oppressive and relentless, swallowed me whole. Yet, amid the ruins of our rebellion, a spark of hope remained. The fight wasn’t over. The Safehouse might have fallen, but the dream of freedom lived on, a flicker in the darkness, waiting to ignite.

Ani Eldritch 2024

--

--

Ani.
Write Under the Moon

I am Ani. Full stop. No backstory. Whether poetry or prose, my work speaks for itself and is ever-evolving.