The Flour and The Crumb

It’s a poem about bread

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon
1 min readNov 22, 2023

--

Photo by Mae Mu on Unsplash

Let me break you open
Your shattered crust steams
Wet heat clings like a secret to my cheek
Whisper to me your flavour
Every shape of you
Warms my bones

Crunch and crisp and callous
I want to feel you shatter
Expose to me your gentle flesh
Which rose with the ovens breath
A delicacy revealed

Arrive slick silk companion
An opalescent buttered sheen
Golden sugared salt veneer
Smear, soak and cheer

Where did breadcrumb sin begin?
And what demons must've dwelt within?
For you now to taste of heaven

Stand down your brittle skin of spears
The feasting hour draws ever near

And you are mine to consume

Thank you so much to Claire Kelly and Edward Swafford at Write Under the Moon for accepting me as a writer. More poems (likely not about bread) hopefully on the way!

--

--

Elizabeth Hilsch
Write Under the Moon

Elizabeth Mavis Hilsch 💫 I want to write poems that help you put words to feelings that are hard to describe.