MULTILINGUAL POETRY

The Moon Smiles For Me

A poem written in German first then translated back to English for both audiences

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Write Under the Moon

--

The moon is smiling at me in the dark with the waves crashing.
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

I was trying to think of words that I’ve been learning in my language journey. I apologize in advance if I make any mistakes in German but I wanted to see if I could write a poem in German and then translate it back into my native language of English.

I have been studying multiple languages over the last six years, including German. I just came back to my German lessons this week and have been heavily submersing myself in the full German language experience by watching TV, movies, and videos in the language.

I’ve even been listening to more German operas to get me in the flow.

My theme for this poem is someone on the beach. They are staring at the moon. Then you realize they aren’t there by choice. I won’t spoil any more of my poems. Here are the German and English versions for you to read.

Der Mond lächelt für mich

Ich schaue den Mond an
Er lächelt mir zurück
Es liegt Frieden in der Luft
Die Wellen schlagen auf meine Füße nieder
Ich schaue auf den Leuchtturm hinaus

Das Boot kommt in den Hafen
Die Freude, die über die Mannschaft kommt, ist wunderschön
Hilf mir, rufe ich, damit sie in meine Richtung schauen.
Ich bin hier drüben und ich bin hungrig und müde
Ich werde endlich gerettet

Meine Gedanken werden plötzlich hoffnungsvoll
Mein Körper ist müde, aber ich springe und zappele, bis sie mich ansehen
Ich fühle Frieden in meinem Herzen
Endlich sehen sie mich
Ich werde bald zu Hause sein

Der Mond lächelt mich wieder an
Der Frieden in der Luft wird deutlicher
Ich bin aus dem Schiffswrack gerettet
Diese Insel hat mich doch nicht verschlungen
Und nun sitze ich und warte darauf, nach Hause gebracht zu werden

The moon smiles for me

I look at the moon
It smiles back at me
There is peace in the air
The waves crash down on my feet
I look out at the lighthouse

The boat comes into the harbor
The joy that comes over the crew is beautiful
Help me, I shout, so they look my way.
I’m over here and I’m hungry and tired
I’m finally being rescued

My thoughts suddenly become hopeful
My body is tired, but I jump and fidget until they look at me
I feel peace in my heart
They finally see me
I’ll be home soon

The moon smiles at me again
The peace in the air becomes clearer
I am rescued from the shipwreck
This island didn’t swallow me up after all
And now I sit and wait to be taken home

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Write Under the Moon

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.