GHOST STORIES IN FAMILY | ENCOUNTERS WITH THE UNKNOWN

Three True Paranormal Stories That Still Pique My Curiosity

Even though I was not a part of them

A.H. Mehr
Write Under the Moon
4 min readMay 22, 2024

--

An impressionistic view of a girl on a swing, eerie atmosphere, and an attic with shadows
Image Created with Bing Image Creator

While my siblings and extended family enjoyed horror movies/paranormal phenomena to the hilt, I was easily frightened.

I watched such movies despite knowing I shouldn’t, with half-alive eyes, or forced my siblings to change channels. If there were more people, I walked out. If I watch, I remember the scariest of scenes for days.

Once, I switched off the TV halfway through watching The Exorcist. It was just me and Mom. I noticed she was also a bit scared (for the first time.)

She was very protective towards me and advised me to be courageous or avoid watching. I avoid. Yet, the paranormal fascinates me. I am grateful I am not feeling that much scared as I write this piece now.

Woman at the Window

{My mother wanted me to be brave and would share an experience of hers whenever I acted like a scaredy cat. Her narration was quite vivid.}

A Sketch of a Woman with Big Eyes Staring
Image Created by Author on Canva

--

--

A.H. Mehr
Write Under the Moon

Graphophile - In a small way, but loving this aesthete's journey.