Turning over a new leaf

Autumn's gone; winter’s here — A poem about Growth

Dazzling Shene
Write Under the Moon
2 min readOct 13, 2021

--

Turning over a new leaf

let’s turn the leaf upside down

one side blood-red; one side ever green

autumn’s blowing fast; winter is here; too early; too chilly

I yearn for the quick silver howling moon nights and the early sweet, clammy morning dew

I have swam in blood rivers with piranhas and sharks and turtled my way to the surface; peacefully; only to find myself suffocating by plastic bags, once on the safety of the shore

let me be a spring leaf, once again; let me sway in the breeze, playfully

If I fall; I’ll fly with the wings of wind; veining through tough choices and decisions; it’s do or die time

let me survive this cold winter breeze, once again

closing the book; the chapters are all read

you are history; no more interested in your mystery

how will you lose something; you never valued

gold is gold; it never gets old; weren’t you sold on my note?

no? then I’m not wasting my precious time on you anymore

if you don’t care then I don’t care; you’re nothing and no more

I can be cold in the winter too, are you taking notes?

good! once I’m done, I don’t look back, enough time and chances were already given to you

marching forward; the world is waiting for me to embrace my New Me

so it’s time I gift me all the closure and comfort; I freely gave to you

Autumn is gone; the withered, yellow brown leaves have crumbled and crushed my heart, now new leaves have sprouted; let winter not fool you

even when chilled; I’m a new green leaf; I’m alive, full of life, ever green; you’re no more, my oxygen, my water supply; I’ll grow on my own

I’ll rotate where the sun lights my world and leave my shadow behind; you’re no more; the sun my friend, smiles at me; I’ll grow, rest assured!

© Dazzling Shene 2021

Thank You for reading my poetry:)

--

--

Dazzling Shene
Write Under the Moon

A dreamer, a believer, a visionary, serpenting my way through the whirlwinds of life. Here to Razzle and bedazzle You~2 X Top writer in Poetry