POEM | FREE VERSE

Wasteland

Inspired by The Twilight Zone

Nancy Santos
Write Under the Moon
3 min readJul 2, 2024

--

black & white image of a man wearing a suit and tie with glasses standing in a wasteland amongst rubble after a bomb went off
Burgess Meredith as Henry Bemis. Image: Wikimedia Commons

April is the cruelest month,
making me meek.
I’m masquerading in misery,
deprived of David Copperfield,
depleted of reading.

A customer comes
to my cage, complaining
she’s shortchanged,
interrupting me,
the maker of Murdstone
stashed below the coin
counter, concealed.

Next window, please.

My boss barks behind
my back, chastising
and summoning. I’m
cheated of chapters,
a reprimanded reader

disciplined by a dream
bleeder — not a weaver,
without leniency
or love for literature.

And I must pacify
my partner
with petty palaver.
Packing paperback
poetry in my pocket,
I’m revived
when my wife
requests a recital.

--

--

Nancy Santos
Write Under the Moon

Poet. Wife. Mom. ISTJ Gen Xer. Smillew Poetry Challenge Winner.