Wishing Well

A poem

alithysha
Write Under the Moon
2 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

if you say that I was meant to be a healer,
I’d call in sick the next day
if you say that I was meant to be a dreamer,
I’d show you all the wounds so you won’t stay

it wasn't ever in my book,
to fall in this well
with a heavy heart, I shook,
crashing my heart’s very shell

it wasn't about the fall inside of the well,
but all the sinking, gasping for air
darkness,
oh, the thirst for a speckle of light
scratched marks on patches of the stone
flailing arms, tangled legs
seeking for a base to step

looking upward, right at the brim of the well,
I see you gazing down on me
slowing down to a stop,
until then, I stayed completely still,
gazing into your blacked-out silhouette,
faint glow circling your body

contracts,
to satisfy the soul
bound by the generational wound,
rewriting history exactly like a copy
deceitful eyes, lies, and betrayals
glossed over any chance to make amends

one second has passed,
not even a breeze broke in
with a hitched breath, knocking me out of my head
the next thing I know,
I got sucked out of your eyes,
as I am looking downward now,
and you are there, trapped like how I thought I was
your eyes, clear as a day now,
piercing into my very being from down there,
you showed the world your very inmost soul

another reality strikes,
standing at the very brim of the well,
I peered at how small you truly are

acted so brave, so full of confidence
but it turns out,
that I searched too deeply into your already corrupt, shallow soul
with you projecting me as the one in the well
trapped, like a tainted soul

your so-called reasons
seems complex without a bore
yet still not strong enough to even raise you out of the well

excuses, all the nonsense
only to be drowned deep within my lore
like it’s nothing, a mere water bucket inside of the well

it is for you, the one seeking for something
something you couldn’t even name
within all the wrong places and means
serves as the final catalyst,
yearns for the unforeseen future
I can honestly say this,
but I felt kind of sorry
that you won’t ever find what you seek
not in this lifetime, under this very sky

it is all, already written in the stars
it was given, by the higher power
for me to begin to walk away
and for you to swim back to the bottom of the well

hoping that I can wish you well,
but knowing that yours won't ever be a wishing well

--

--

alithysha
Write Under the Moon

Questioning everything, looking for deeper meaning, and higher reasoning.