Words about a Robin

Spring Observations

Holly
Write Under the Moon
1 min readApr 28, 2021

--

Photo by Ian Baldwin on Unsplash

There’s a robin in my tree
flying down to the yard
she finds some straw
to build her nest

I saw her yesterday
working hard
I watch her this morning
Dodging the charges
from my curious puppy

She builds alone
no help
from what I’ve seen
making a perfect cradle
for her avian offspring

The blue jays see
with a distant glare
for it’s the jay’s tree
her work will be for naught

They hunt and scavenge
acorns and bugs
and when there are eggs
they will wait for their meal

One or two
they don’t seem to care
although it is rare
I’ve seen the battles in midair

Like any mother
the robin fights for her young
but sometimes in vain
the battle is never won

That’s nature
fascinating as it is
to observe its operation
to see the foibles of some
and the fervor of others

Yet each year
the birds come
in the spring
and carry on

--

--