You Were So Not That

A poem

--

Jungle in the background, a tree trunk shaped as a inverted question
Credits: Author

You stand in the autumn sun,
A pale smile against the bright,
A glance on my lips, a pause,
And a blush before we realize it.

….

The busy traffic unmoving,
And some moments together,
Yet in the maddening crowd,
You hold me in your eyes.

It means nothing, now,
Not to me, for a change,
The pause before the goodbyes,
The looking in the eyes.

You were so not ‘that’,
Not the one who dared,
Not one who could stand by,
In times when I needed the most.

You were so not that,
A friend who could be trusted,
Or with the passion for life,
I thought you had.

You were so not that
The picture I had created of yours
Not your fault, but mine
For you never said you were.

--

--

Smita Roy Trivedi, PhD
Write Under the Moon

An economist by profession, I write on issues close to my heart. Views are personal.