Another Obstacle on the Writer’s Journey

How do I switch writing modes?

Rianne Grace
Write Well, Be Well

--

Photo by Travis Saylor on Pexels

My call-to-action came in the beginning of March. A favorite blogger and writing guru, Shaunta Grimes, said “Hey guys, you should write on Medium!”

And I answered the call.

I was hesitant at first. I had questions.

Was the effort I was investing worth it? Would Medium help me reach my goals as a writer, or would it be yet another bright idea that fell flat and was eventually abandoned? Would anybody really want to read what I had to say?

It turned out, the answer was yes.

The effort is worth it. Medium is helping me reach my goals. People do want to read what I write.

That’s a nice feeling, y’all.

I rode that wave through three months of increasing productivity.

I wrote more, I wrote better, and my reach grew as I was curated a few times and learned to network. I felt like I was getting the hang of this Medium thing. Yay!

The obstacles begin.

Obstacle number one was a deep depressive episode that drained me, cut off my creativity, and left me unable to write at all…

--

--

Rianne Grace
Write Well, Be Well

Writes passionately about writing, reading, and mental health. Cheers for new writers and marks up the newspaper with red pen.