What My Self-Care Looks Like Today

The first step is recognizing the problem

Rianne Grace
Write Well, Be Well

--

Photo by Oleksandr Pidvalnyi on Pexels

I know it sounds odd, but I don’t always notice when I’m feeling down. What I did notice today was the writer’s block. That’s unusual for me. I can usually find something to write about, but no. Nothing was coming to me.

I know from my own experience that writer’s block will rarely just go away, and I have writing goals I want to reach this week. So even though I felt like taking a nap, I set a timer for ten minutes and started pushing my pen across the page.

I wrote about writer’s block, and how it rarely affects me. I wrote about how tired I was, and that I felt like crying but didn’t know why.

This is where I figured out that something else was going on.

I wrote about why I might be feeling low. I’d eaten recently, and had plenty of water, and taken my meds, which are the most likely culprits. But I had read a couple of highly emotional stories today, and I was frustrated that I hadn’t been as productive as I’d hoped.

Some self-care was definitely in order.

I reminded myself that my mental health was my first priority; writing more could wait. There was no need to feel guilty. I’d done my best…

--

--

Rianne Grace
Write Well, Be Well

Writes passionately about writing, reading, and mental health. Cheers for new writers and marks up the newspaper with red pen.