How To Write More, Right Now

Abby Jaquint
Write When
Published in
3 min readDec 29, 2019

--

There’s one piece of advice I’ll never forget.

Photo by Alexis Brown on Unsplash

I believe that there’s one big secret to writing more.

Well, I guess I can say I believe there are many ways you can write more, but only one of those ways is going to help you the most, and it’s something that I often preach about.

Let’s get right to the point.

The secret to writing more is to not judge your own writing.

That’s right! That’s quite literally almost all there is to it.

Something that tends to hold us all back is our inner critic. That little voice inside our head that doesn’t want us to succeed. The voice that tells you you aren’t good enough, that you’re not ready, that you’re not doing the best you can do.

I don’t think we need to listen to that voice.

It’s hard not to at times, and sometimes we even let the voice win.

We stop writing, we delete that last article, we ditch the chapter we’ve been working on all night. Why do we do this? Because we don’t think it’s good enough.

Something that’s hard to remember in the moment is that there’s always later. There will always be time to edit, to rewrite, to make changes. But there won’t always be times when we’re motivated to write. This is why you have to…

--

--

Abby Jaquint
Write When

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!