Marketing

Creating a Writer’s Mission Statement

How to craft a brand that focuses on goals, purpose, and value

Holly Lyn Walrath
Write Weird
Published in
6 min readApr 3, 2019

--

When I first got published, I remember how thrilled I was to see my name in print. Even though it was in a small publication for a little story, I still felt like I’d finally accomplished something worthwhile. Shortly after experiencing this feeling, doubt set in.

Was this the sign of better things to come? Wait — should I have come up with a pen name? Does it say something about me as a writer that I’ve only published flash fiction so far? By getting published in magazine X does that mean I’m only a genre writer? Agh!!

https://medium.com/@hollylynwalrath/switching-genres-e5929f1962b1

All this stress got me thinking. A lot of writers send their work out willy-nilly. They’re blasting their work into the proverbial black hole of submissions. And who can blame them? It’s hard to choose the right journals. You have to purchase them to read them, or trek over to the local library and hope they have them in stock. You have to sift, and sift, and sift, panning for literary gold.

Emerging writers don’t know where they will be in ten years. All they know is they are sitting on five to ten halfway decent stories or poems, and those pieces need…

--

--

Holly Lyn Walrath
Write Weird

I'm a writer, editor, publisher, and poet. I write about writing. Find me online at www.hlwalrath.com or on Twitter @HollyLynWalrath!