Submitting Poetry

For SFF or Literary/Realism Writers

Holly Lyn Walrath
Write Weird

--

Image Courtesy Thought Catalog

These days, it might seem superfluous to submit poetry to journals and magazines when you can make a living as an Instapoet instead. But in the world of poetry, having many publications under your belt can be a way to build towards publishing a chapbook or full-length book of poems.

What follows is a step-by-step guide for poets on submitting your work. This is part of a series of articles for new writers who’ve never sent their work out before. While everyone’s process is different, I hope these tips and tricks can be a starting point for you to figure out your submissions process and start getting your work into the world.

I should note that there are many differences in submission processes between “genre” (science fiction, fantasy, and horror) publications and “literary” (realism) publications. I have done my best to point out these differences where I can, but generally, the method for submitting is very similar between genres.

Check out my other guides for submitting fiction: Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Genre Edition and Literary/Realism Edition.

1. Finish the Poem

“A work is never completed except by some accident such as weariness, satisfaction, the need…

--

--

Holly Lyn Walrath
Write Weird

I'm a writer, editor, publisher, and poet. I write about writing. Find me online at www.hlwalrath.com or on Twitter @HollyLynWalrath!